Valentine’s Day and Escapism

As a Romance novelist and an ethusiastic reader, this is going to come off as arrogant or even grumpy, but I don’t care much for Valentine’s Day.

I know, I know. Hear me out here. I’ve been married like…a long time. And in those years of dating and being married, there were years where my partner and I could be together and years where the gifts were plenty and years where we planned special dinners together. AND there have been plenty of years where we have been separated due to work or travel or just being sleep deprived parents to very young children.

Granted that neither one of us have the Love Language of gift giving, but we both don’t put a lot of pressure on Valentine’s Day after all this time. Our love is a bit stronger than one day. I’d much rather have a partner willing to help clean up after a kid gets sick in the middle of the night or one who will hold my hand during a scary medical process than have one that showers me with gifts and compliments on only one day a year.

There are many kinds of partnerships and different kinds of romance. Over time, I don’t need that box of chocolates that I can just buy for myself or an expensive dinner out on the busiest night of the year. But, I sure as hell won’t turn down a foot rub while watching Schitt’s Creek. *hint hint* 😉

So, if you find yourself a bit salty over this holiday and all the pressures that come with it, you aren’t alone.

And, if you are looking for a bit of pressure-free escapism, I suggest picking up one these books I’ve been reading lately. If you’re looking for a bisexual political love story, check here. Or an interracial recent historical love story, you can’t go wrong here. Or a super hot bad boy romance, click here.

Published by gwengavinbooks

I am a Contemporary Romance Author with a penchant for steamy enemies-to-lovers stories. I write from Southern California where I live with my family.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started